Title Transfer for New Residents

*Title work needs to be brought in before 4:00 p.m.

Beginning January 1, 2012, no certificate of title will be issued for any motor vehicle more than thirty-five (35) years old.

Effective January 1, 2012, no certificate of title will be issued for any trailer, semi-trailer, travel trailer or pop-up camper more than twenty (20) years old.

Effective January 1, 2013, no certificate of title will be issued for a motor-driven cycle as defined in Section 32-1-1.1, Code of Alabama, 1975. A motor-driven cycle is defined as every motorcycle, including every motor scooter, with a motor which produces not to exceed five brake horsepower not to exceed 150 cubic centimeter engine displacement and weighs less than 200 pounds fully equipped, and every bicycle with motor attached.

All vehicles brought into Alabama require visual inspection. Odometer reading must be shown in each title assignment on vehicles within ten model years.

If you are a new resident, the following items are guidelines for title transfer and tag registration of out-of-state vehicles in Alabama:


SURRENDER VALID CERTIFICATE TITLE AND CURRENT TAG RECEIPT OR REGISTRATION
If a lien holder holds the valid title, then a copy of the out-of-state title is necessary. A fax copy is acceptable. If the surrendering state provides electronic title issuance to the lien holder, then a title confirmation statement should be provided and include information listing owner, vehicle and lien holder. In many states the owner listing on the face of the title differs from payment books and tag receipts.


PROVIDE PHYSICAL INSPECTION OF THE VEHICLE (or State Form MVT 5-10)
A physical inspection and verification of the VIN and descriptive data shown on the title application is required for each vehicle brought into Alabama with an out-of-state title. Vehicles and trailers may be brought to the Courthouse or State Form MVT 5-10 (download below) may be completed by a governmental law enforcement officer in Alabama. Utility trailers pulled by a bumper hitch are exempt from physical inspection.


REGISTRATION FEES
Alabama title fee is $18.00. Alabama vehicle registration is renewed on a staggered system, based on the first letter of the owner's last name. Fees vary according to vehicle type, but standard passenger fee is $24.25. Out-of-state tag registration is valid 30 days for new residents. Late registration penalty is $15.00. If registration is delayed beyond the designated tag renewal month, there may be additional penalties due.
Ad valorem tax is a property ownership tax based on the market value on October 1 as provided by the Alabama Department of Revenue. The tax lien attaches to vehicles upon entering the highways of the State. Tax may be collected for prior months during the vehicle registration renewal month and varies according to vehicle value and outstanding months due.


PROVIDE PROOF OF LIABILITY INSURANCE AND EACH OWNER'S VALID ALABAMA DRIVERS LICENSE OR ID CARD
The owner provides evidence that they are in compliance with Alabama law related to liability insurance coverage on their vehicle. A valid out-of-state driver's license or state issued id card may by presented by a new resident within the required days to change to an Alabama drivers license.
 

Forms

Thumbnail 220x PDF
State Form MVT 5-10
Motor Vehicle Inspection by a Government Official

Download "State Form MVT 5-10.pdf"